This site is being designed in public. Please excuse placeholder content, broken design, etc.!

Tom Callahan’s Blog

So here we go. After years and years of "the cobbler's children going shoe-less", I'm finally going to do a real personal site/blog that's not just a quick-and-dirty portfolio site. I mean it this time. (I have folders for partial rebuild and redesigns from 2010, 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2018 still on my laptop).

Rather than design it first and get sidetracked before finishing the build, I'm going to reverse that and build it and design directly in code as I go, and add posts sort of documenting the process. So it'll look rough at first and get better as it goes (at least I hope so).

As I post this, it's an out-of-the-box Nuxt project with only minimal modifications made to the boilerplate components, running on a Sanity back-end, deployed on Netlify.

But I'm going to drop one piece of that -- after having spent the last 2 years up to my eyeballs in Vue/Nuxt including some very large and complex app-like sites (that's just Vue, but a Nuxt version also exists, undeployed due to lack of infrastructure support) and two iOS apps (both Vue, using Capacitor), I feel like I'm competent enough with Vue to try something else.

So I'm going to do it with React. Got through the Tic Tac Toe game tutorial and am about to get into Next.js. So far I prefer Vue hands-down, but I guess we'll see how this goes.

Socials